Do you find me attractive?

Robin

Much of Robin’s speech comes direct from kids’ movies: “awesome baby”, “now I can look at myself naked” and other exclamations. L was taken to one side by his nursery teacher, who explained, as though not completely amused, that Robin had danced, shaking his bottom at her and then turned and asked, “Do you find me attractive?” She may not have been aware of the Madagascar reference.

Gabe and Eliza

Their two years age gap shows when dropping off at school. In the early spring, taking Gabe in early for choir practice, he usually sprinted away from me without a farewell, anxious about being late. On a normal school morning, he concedes an embrace, but turns his head away, conscious that he may be under peer observation.

In the playground Eliza begins pleas to spend the day with me or with L. She essays defiance, “I’m not going in”. Coaxed to the classroom door, she continues to resist. Grasping my hand, holding on to my head when I bend to kiss her goodbye, making no moves of her own towards the classroom. She’s upset, but doesn’t cry. Does she believe she can be snatched homeward from the threshold of school? I guide her to the door, unhand her and turn away.

Leave a Reply

